The NY Times ran this today about M.I.T. Seems a Ms. Jones lied about her qualifications. Her integrity isn’t being questioned, it is a verified fact by her own admission. “I misrepresented my academic degrees when I first applied to M.I.T. 28 years ago and did not have the courage to correct my résumé when I applied for my current job or at any time since,.” Is there another way to say I am a lying b—ch.

“Whenever someone’s integrity is questioned,” (Phillip L. Clay, M.I.T.’s chancellor), said, “it sets a bad example, but I feel like the students can get past that and look at what she’s done for us as a whole.”

I was glad to see the Times actually print something about an American Icon – M.I.T., lying. That to me seems unusual. They don’t really like to talk about liars all that much. You remember Jason Blair and his boss, Raines. A blurb here and line there that was about it. Then there was Walter Duranty. Duranty won the Pulitzer for himself as an employee of the Times by lying to the world about how kind, gentle, caring, and loving Joseph Stalin was. But, it seems its perfectly OK to talk about M.I.T. If it’s about yourself it’s a mistake, a bad example,  but if it’s about your neighbor it’s a sin. We all know that.

However, it should be troubling to anyone whose neurons haven’t been fried by Cocaine, that lying to obtain anything is fraud. Most of the country considers that some kind of crime. Not, however, when you happen to be a bastion of post-modern thought such as M.I.T.

Words have lost their meaning in our culture with no little boost from a Chancellor who “feels,” rather than “thinks” when it comes to issues of integrity. “…it sets a bad example.” You think? Duh! But, of course the students will be able to “get past,” the fraud, deception, selfish-egotism, and cowardice, that prevented 28 years of truthful accountability. What other lies do we live with because of this so-called school.

I would ask this: How can the school trust anything she has done, said, represented, or claimed over the past 28 years. Moreover, how can anyone trust the Chancellor when he dismisses this egregious breach of integrity as “a bad example.”

Jeffrey Dahmer was more than a bad example and Ms. Jones is more than a bad example. Dahmer was a cannibal who lied about his activities, Jones is a fraud who lied to every student, professor, teacher, aide, janitor, and parent, connected with M.I.T., for the past 28 years, concerning her activities. Doesn’t it occur to these people everything she did at M.I.T. was fraudulent because all of it was done under cover of a lie?

If I rob a bank, get away with it, invest the money, and 28 years later get caught, do I get to keep the money? (You know my answer – you can comment with yours) It IS THE SAME THING – PEOPLE. Ms. Jones owes M.I.T., and the people of the state of Massachusetts 28 years worth of salary. She obtained that money fraudulently. Is it beginning to soak in? 

I would ask how many underprivileged Black and Hispanic kids were kept out of that school because of lies told about their eligibility? Will the nation now be thinking about questions of this nature for some time to come. Of course. We are human and like it or not when you lie to me once – your fault, when you do it again – my fault. Years will pass before this “bad example,” is rectified.

But that’s OK! This lying, thieving, fraud, Jones, has gotten enough publicity from her confession to guarantee a best seller on the lying-Times best seller list.

I better go before I get wound up and “set a bad example.”

