“Blaming guns for crime rates is like blaming spoons for Rosie O’Donnell being fat.”

Where in the world did I find that quote? I don’t remember. But it is of sufficient quirkyness I believe, to deserve my taking the time to use it here.

Another line I saw the other day which I also liked a lot I have used in the header to this blog:

“Unfortunately, we’ll all be dead relatively soon, so I won’t be around to say I told you so, and you won’t be here to roll your eyes and tell me to shut up.” (Stacy Horn)

I wrote Stacy – who is a writer – to ask if I could use her line, she graciously granted permission. Moreover, she commented that when she wrote the line it “cracked” her up as it did me. That was refreshing; a writer whose writing is enjoyed by her as well as others. Do you have any idea how rare that is. Most writing is done for an unknown audience in the hopes of garnering money. That isn’t writing and it is not art. It is usually trash generated for no other reason than self-agrandizement. Don’t believe that? When was the last time you heard an interview of an “author” who actually liked what he/she had written? That’s what I thought: never.

Most of what I read this morning as I sped through the galaxy of blogs was the usual banal rehash of someone’s link to someone who commented about what someone said about….. My God; Who cares about that drivel or mine? I don’t.

Therefore: Be it know to all (both of you) who read this page from time to time, I am going to change. From this point on I am going to focus on posting only the gems of language usage I find here and there. 

I think this will be a fun project and it will improve the blog world because I won’t be contributing more hokum to pollute the atmosphere.

Now I have to change the name of the blog. Aha! I have it! I will use the internationally famous Mark “the bird” Fydrich’s oft quoted remark: “Ya know, ya never know, ya know.”

For those too young to remember, Mark was a pitcher for the Detroit Tigers in the 70’s famous for talking to the baseball as he stood on the mound preparing to dazzle one or another opposing team member with his prowess.

Anyway I really do think spoons should be universally banned. Rosie obviously would not be such an example of obesity were it not for the ready availability of eating utensils.

Post Script #1 – I found another one I like:

“I’m not really a fan of “Blended Worship” either. That usually degenerates into something like the Sizzler salad bar.”

Obviously this one refers to church Music and its’ deterioration into who knows what. Sizzler salad bar seems and apt description

