No matter what I type here there will be some who find fault with it. That is their perogative (that’s the way it sounds in American) prerogative. I understand the nature (I almost said ‘very nature’ which would have elicited irate comments) of a web-log is such that comments will be made about it. (I know that’s hard to read and I don’t care.)

Of course, since most “bloggers” are not English or American language teachers there will be grammatical errors and there will be colloquialisms as well.  Moreover, because I like to write a certain way ( ) there will be lots of those bracket thingys.

I really don’t care (I could care less) what they think. This is my blog and I will say what I want the way I want – so there.

The big problem is the fact that the inhabitants of the USA do NOT speak English – they speak American, an unstable, ill-defined, inconsistent, poorly pronounced and badly spelled derivative of an ancient version of English. It is now one in which they have lost all sense of grammar and punctuation. It is so far removed from its origins that it should not be confused with the true English language, as used in Britain. (The link above is the source for this)

Unstable, ill-defined, inconsistent, poorly pronounced, badly spelled – weeeellllll, I never.

How’s this for American English; UP YOURS?

As I was taking note of many of the comments to this article I did find some interesting facts:

(1) Frances McGuire uses “colloqualisms,” as opposed to “colloquialism.”  Is that a regional dialect? I wonder?

(2) Peter gave me pause for reflection. He wrote:

‘No way Hose’
I hear this frequently from my Son and his circle of friends. Just who is Hose and what exactly is it that he shouldn’t do?

It took extra time to figure out he was referring to our Mexican friends and he really meant to indicate “Jose.” I will excuse this error however, as I realize that in England they have more association with Arabic names as opposed to Spanish or Mexican. “Abdul,” is easier for them to assimilate than is “Jose.” I do wonder what they will do when they begin trying to comprehend Black-English and some of the names associated with this new dialect. Kanisha, Raydeen, LaShawn are some names that readily come to mind. Then of course, there is Tayshawn; he plays for the Deeeetroit Pistons.

(3) Dave Smith wrote:

I hate “I hear what you say”. It translates as “I’m not listening”.

I can understand his not liking the phrase, I don’t care for it either. But to apply an improper definition to it should not be countenanced.

The phrase in American English does not mean “I’m not listeninig,” it means, I “could care less,” about what you are saying.

Well “the fact of the matter is,” this blog could become “massive,” or “awesome,” and I don’t wish to have people think it is “to die for.”  “Hopefully,” I have gained some “new insight,” into the use of language by writing this and reading the article.  “At the end of the day,” though, I suppose I will have “issues” since “there is no doubt in my mind,” someone will come along to “gobsmack” me at “some moment in time.”

Please though, if you “brilliant” folk reading his have an inkling would you please tell me what “gobsmack” means? We Americans sometimes have “issues,” with “off shore,” slang.

Oh! By the by (that’s British or is it English? In America we write BTW, “whatever.”)  “Have a nice day.”

