I don’t know what’s going on. Somedays when I surf the blogs I end by saying to myself, “Self, that was a waste, you should have taken out the garbage or something.”

Not today. Wow! It has to be something in the nations’ water supply. Did you put something in it? I know I didn’t. It ain’t my fault.

After reading several great posts at different blogs I came to Bookworm Room, which is on my lurking route. The insight in his/her article today is outstanding:

[…]At the start of each class, the teacher writes on a white board the notes that are going to be highlighted in the workbook and gives them the relevant “do, re, me” labels. She does this because, in sight singing, these labels are not fixed. That is, “do” is “C” only in the key of C. In the key of G, “do” is “G.” This means that for any sight singing exercise, the boys need to know which note will be “do.” If the other little boys forget what “do” is in any particular exercise, they look to the white board, spot the note, and read its label. (”Aha! This time, ‘do’ is ‘C.’”) These new little boys, however, seem not to move their eyes back and forth between board and book. Even when prompted, they can’t seem to track the information on the white board and relate it to their theory book.[…]

then at the end Bookworm says:

[…]None of the above is meant to be a criticism of the families in poorer neighborhoods. It is meant to be a criticism of the way we keep both throwing money at failing schools, and imposing more and more test requirements, in the belief that these things will magically fix the children’s learning deficits. I think the teaching methodology is inherently flawed, in that it stuffs children with facts and rules like geese being readied for the pate machine. Simply beefing up this fact-stuffing approach won’t matter in the poorer neighborhoods. What would matter, and what could be done without demanding ever more money, is to adjust the curriculum to help children understand what they’re learning and then to give them the tools to teach themselves. While they might master less material, they’ll actually learn what is put before them, and they will embark upon a lifetime of knowledge acquisition, no matter the situation in which they find themselves.

I don’t think I have ever read a better analysis of the deficiencies in our educational system. As a degree’d Autodidact I will attest to the blessings of being able to learn on one’s own. The mind always wants more.

Well from there I had to go to Gadly’s Muse where I read:

[..]The emphasis on achievement was palpable during my upbringing.  It was not so much a pursuit of wealth as a pursuit of personal worth considered in terms of recognized contribution to society, to family, to community, that impelled us as a generation to do what we did.  It was generally assumed that some degree of financial security or even prosperity would attend these attainments, and that was considered only right.  It was the type of work that a person did, or the type of role that they played in the community that determined their status and recognition.  It was not uncommon for a person to align themselves with a company or other work effort and remain there their entire working life.[…]

to finish his posting Gadfly comments:

[…]  The television series “Friends” and “Seinfeld” dramatically illustrate this shallow and unsatisfying approach to life. It was the lifestyle with all its various perculations that provided the plot.  There was no heroism because their were no goals or standards or sacrifices considered.  What is most sad is that it seems inconceivable to so many that such is not how it has to be.

After reading the above I went to Amy’s Blog where I thought I could relax, but no I had to read this from her sidebar, “The Truth about Men and Church:

 […]The disintegration of the family follows hard upon the amorality and emotional anarchy that flow from the neutering, devaluing, or exclusion of the loving and protective authority of the father.

Young men, whose basic biology does not lead them in the direction of civilization, emerge into a society that, in less than 40 years, has gone from certainty and encouragement about their maleness to a scarcely disguised contempt for and confusion about their role and vocation. This is exhibited in everything from the educational system, which from the 1960s onward has been used as a tool of social engineering, to the entertainment world, where the portrayal of decent honorable men turns up about as often as snow in summer.[…]

There are others but I don’t want this to get too long. It’s just that on the same day everyone seems to be posting such excellent essays and in the examples above they happen to coincide in education.

This is the kind of day I wish I had time to surf all of my favorite blogs.

Note please: The Jolly Blogger gave me the link to Gadfly and Amy. For that I am grateful.

