My sister-in-law is a fairly-young widow struggling to get by. She and I email each other from time to time about various and assundry things that catch each others eye.

Recently she sent me a letter from “American Family Council,” (I think that’s the name of the outfit) which was presenting what it wanted us to believe was an alarming new law, HR 254.

Well I responded to Sis that I thought this letter was just a ploy to beg for money. Most of these kinds of things are. “Rev.” Robert Tilton’s prayer “cloths” come to mind, for example, as does Oral Roberts suicide pact with God from years past.

Since the author of Sis’s forwarded letter, Wildmon, spends half of his letter qualifying the fact that HR 254 doesn’t really make any great change to the 1994 hate crimes legislation Clinton signed into law but does expend a lot of ink on what might happen I commented that I thought this was just another ploy to garner money for Caddies and Condo’s.

After all if the bill is just “potentially” damaging why isn’t this moron Wildmon informing his readship about “actual” problems I.E., the ninth circuit court of appeals for instance? When is he going to start a movement to outlaw judicial activism?

Part of the reason I believe Wildmon is just another Caddie’s and Condo’s huckster is this:

[…]If you think our efforts are worthy, would you please support us with a small gift? Thank you for caring enough to get involved.

Sincerely,

Donald E. Wildmon, Founder and Chairman
American Family Association

P.S. Please forward this e-mail message to your family and friends!
Have a question about this or past Action Alerts? Click Here

Well Sis and I got in a discussion about this and finally ended with “hugs and kisses,” so everything, family-wise, is OK.

However, I still believe everyone of these of these hucksters is a blot on Christianity. Mass mailings to our representatives irritate them they don’t help them decide. Ask your Representative what he/she does with this sort of comunique. The answer will be almost universally “round file.”

If Wildmon’s concern is so great why is he asking for money. Jesus taught the opposite. He said “sell all that ye have,” not beg for more. Why doesn’t this guy read his Bible to find out what is says he is supposed to do regarding these matters. I for one would like to hear his “opinion” on that.

That’s my opinion.

Dr. Jim

