I guess I wasted a lot of my life trying to come to grips with Latin, some history, Aristotelian logic, and assorted other mental exercises the adults around me told me I had to know. Those adults said that I would not be able to function in “the real world,” if I didn’t know these kinds of basis things.

So I learned ABC followed by D and E,  is called an alphabet and I learned that “cogito ergo sum,” said something about who I supposedly are am, and I learned that most of the time 2+2=4. (Unless, of course, you work for the government then the equation equals whatever you say it does). And of course to round everything out I had to learn a foreign language and how to play the piano. I don’t do any of those things really well.

From history I learned that the ones who won wars were the ones who killed the most people, destroyed the most property, created the most chaos, and did it faster than the other guy could. I also learned that those who lost wars were the idiots who gave the other guy a chance. You know, something like what we are doing in the Middle East. Kill a few, take some property, then let the others go home and hide their guns while we rebuild the building we just blew up. (I understand we now teach this on American playgrounds. Don’t hurt each other and everyone gets to score some points).

When I look at the world as it is today, through the eyes educated by those adults from my past, I get a  view that is incomprehensible in many aspects, it is so askance what I believe to be reality.

For instance the recent committee on how to lose wars and buy off Arabs for a short period – I guess they named it the President’s Advisory Committee on Iraq or some such said:

RECOMMENDATION 16: In exchange for these actions and in the context of a full and secure peace agreement, the Israelis should return the Golan Heights, with a U.S. security guarantee for Israel that could include an international force on the border, including U.S. troops if requested by both parties.

(Ed comment: If there is a “secure peace agreement…” why would a U.S. backed security force be needed? Doesn’t “secure peace agreement,” assume each of the signatories will honor the agreement and contain it’s rogue elements? I’m just asking).

Anyway, if memory serves the Golan Heights was given to Israel when it was attacked in 1967 by every Arab neighbor it had, plus Egypt. What possible delusions of mind could have suggested to the morons on the “committee,” that if this particular piece of property was deeded back to the crazies everything would be fine, peace would reign and all would be well with the world?

I guess I should stick to other subjects and not try to comprehend the nonsense that passes for thought of some of the folks who used to have the power to really mess up the world but are now so old they can only drool on their notepads.

Do they let James Baker and the others have sharpened pencils when they write this stuff or do they still use crayons?

Anyway using the “committee’s” logic we should probably sell Alaska back to Russia for what we paid for it. After all who knew then, what it would be worth now.  Same deal with the Golan Heights. If they -Arabs – knew in 1967 they would loose that bit of real estate they probably wouldn’t have attacked Israel.  

My logic says, tell Israel it has permission to take out Iran and then Syria and the crap in the Middle East will come to a screeching halt. What’s the difference if the Israeli’s kill a few hundred thousand Arabs in a hurry or the Arabs kill themselves with car-bombs and suicide bombers at a much slower pace. After all – all we are talking here is numbers and time.

Someone said the other day, “If the Muslims give up their weapons we will have peace: If the Israeli’s give up their weapons we will have the end of Israel.” I think that is what James Baker and his drooling compatriots want – and end to Israel.

