driving-to-base.jpg A long time ago, in what now seems to have been another life, I used to drive to work on this road. It is in Sembach, Germany. Sembach Air Force Base is/was partially comprised of the buildings you can see in the distance. I don’t know if the U.S. still leases this facility or not.

ater today I am going to get IN a plane, I never get on them, for my first visit to this particular area of Europe in 40 years.

After I have reminisced for awhile I plan to get back in the rented “Beemer” or whatever, neuschwanstein_01_370.jpg to see for myself if this is a real place or just something that is plastered on every brochure to attract tourists.

Now, of course, I know I don’t have to explain myself, but I have a reader who has left a comment and a query on my page-posting “I’m OK thanks for asking.” Therefore, I thought it only civil I acknowledge that fact by explaining why I won’t answer his/her question right away. I will answer, of course, but as you see I will be otherwise engaged for a couple-a-weeks.

In the interim: Since the question has to do with metaphysical, Calvinist, God kinds of things – who is saved, who ain’t, that sort of thing – for the curious I suggest reading Gagdad Bob. Bob seems to be much more versed in the tricky things, like what does Predestination – “I have chosen you” – really mean.

There are questions we won’t know the answer to in this present “dimension” or “form.” For instance in Genesis it says God made the plants and herbs and such before the Earth was ready. Where did he keep them? Does anyone know? I don’t. Here’s what it, the Bible, says:

Gen 2:4,5, These are the generations of the heavens and of the earth when they were created, in the day that the LORD God made the earth and the heavens And every plant of the field before it was in the earth, and every herb of the field before it grew: for the LORD God had not caused it to rain upon the earth, and there was not a man to till the ground

So it is that I will have to think for awhile before I answer my questioner. While I’m doing that I think I will ponder another one that us non-theologian types think about from time to time.

Genesis begins with the Creation (which I believe, I’m not questioning that, nor by the way do I intend to argue with you about it) but in the first Chapter of that book we are told:

Gen 1:28 And God blessed them, and God said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth, and subdue it:

How can we REplenish something that has just been made? Inquiring minds want to know?

I swear on a stack of Bibles, to be colloquial about it, my teachers always told me “replenish” meant to fill something again that had been full but had somehow gotten emptied. But Genesis according to the Preachers starts everything from scratch. Does it?

Anyway when I get back I may let the world know what I think about “predestination.” Gagdad Bob just might say something about Karma. I don’t know. Or maybe you could read some of Jon Ray’s posts, he might call it “fate,” or something even though he does keep a Presbyterian Hymnal on his night stand.

See ya later.

